Local Government of Gold River

Village of Gold River Municipal Council
499 Muchalat Drive, PO Box 610, Gold River, BC, Canada V0P 1G0
Phone: 250-283-2202 Fax: 250-283-7500
Website: www.goldriver.ca
Email: info@goldriver.ca


Council is the governing elected body for the Village of Gold River, comprised of a Mayor and four Councillors. All members of Council are elected for terms four years in length and each member of Council represents the Village at large.

The Community Charter and Local Government Act give Council the statutory authority to do such things as provide services, set budgets, levy taxes, and establish policies for the benefit and protection of its residents

Council Meetings are held the first and third Monday of every month unless otherwise posted, in Council Chambers at 7:30pm. Agendas are prepared on the Thursday prior to the meeting and are available for viewing by the public at the Village Office on the morning of the meeting.


Gold River Mayor & Council

2020 village of gold river  council


Mayor Brad Unger Mayor grbunger@goldriver.ca
Rachel Stratton Councillor grrstratton@goldriver.ca
Brenda Patrick Councillor grbpatrick@goldriver.ca
Kirsty Begon Councillor grkbegon@goldriver.ca
Joe Sinclair Councillor grjsinclair@goldriver.ca


Village of Tsaxana

Mowachaht/Muchalaht First Nation
100 Ouwatin Road, Tsaxana Reserve, Gold River, BC.
Mailing Address: PO Box 459, Gold River, BC, Canada V0P 1G0
Phone:250-283-2015 Fax: 250-283-2335
Toll free: 1-800-293-2388
Web Site: www.yuquot.ca

Council of Chiefs

House of Unity – 250-283-7269

Elder Centre – 250-283-2962

Daycare – 250-283-2396


Gold River Visitor Centre

gold river visitor center

PO Box 610, Gold River, BC V0P 1G0
Phone: 250-283-2418 (July-August)
250-283-2202 Off Season (Sept – June)

Located at the entrance to town on Hwy 28, the Gold River Visitor Centre is housed in a beautiful heritage building, with full washroom facilities, pay phone, sani-station and potable water, directional and business signs, all on a landscaped park like setting.  The Visitor Centre is fully wheelchair accessible and there are picnic tables and RV parking available.  The Gold River Visitor Centre is a seasonal operation open weekends from May to June and daily between July and August.

Strathcona Regional District

#301 – 990 Cedar Street
Campbell River, BC V9W 7Z8
Phone: 1-877-830-2990

The Strathcona Regional District was established on February 15, 2008 as one of two new local governments, created by the provincial government’s  restructure of the Comox Strathcona Regional District.   Regional districts are a unique feature of the British Columbia local government system, and the Strathcona Regional District, as with all regional districts, is a federation of municipalities and rural areas. Regional districts provide a government for unincorporated (rural) areas, a forum for inter-municipal cooperation and an organization upon which provincial mandates can be imposed, such as for regional waste management planning.  The Village of Gold River is a member municipality of the Strathcona Regional District.